The Butterfly

By: Polacco, Patricia

Price: $10.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Fine


New York: Philomel, 2000. 1st Printing. Fine/fine. During the Nazi occupation of France, Monique's mother hides a Jewish family in her basement and tries to help them escape to freedom. In the tradition of "Pink and Say, " Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance. Full color


From the Publisher


Since the Tall Boots--the Nazis--have marched into Monique's small French village, terrorizing it, nothing surprises her. Until the night Monique encounters "the little ghost" sitting at the end of her bed. When she turns out to be--not a ghost at all--but a young girl named Sevrine, who has been hiding from the Nazis in Monique's own basement, how could Monique not be surprised Playing upstairs after dark, the two become friends until, in a terrifying moment, they are discovered, sending both of their families into a nighttime flight. In the tradition of Pink and Say, Patricia Polacco once again dips into her own family's history to reveal her Aunt Monique's true story of friendship from the French Resistance.

Title: The Butterfly

Author Name: Polacco, Patricia

Categories: Children's, Book,

Edition: First

Publisher: New York, Philomel: 2000

ISBN Number: 0399231706

ISBN Number 13: 9780399231704

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Jacket Condition: fine Jacket

Seller ID: 11800